Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Everything, Alright! #27

Everything Alright! #27

Installation Constellation - Honeymoon
Boyhood Heroes - The Jangleberries
Get Out - Lost Pets
Taking Time - Day Ravies
Line Up On The Solstice - Space Daze
Going Away - Cat Cat
Child Model - Tempura Nights
Sweet Discontent - Tuff Love
Fleet Services - Not Made In China

Small Eye - Mope City
Daisy Chain - Heavy Heart
Occasional Sugars - April Fool's Day
Don't Give Me That, Rob - Brilliant Mind
Distant Night - Territory
Walking Through A Dead Night - Consilence
Hearts Are Breaking - High Hazels
Stranger Thoughts - Village
Creeping - Witching Waves

Dec. 15 - Grubs
You Are A Cathedral - Baker Island

Play music.......BUY music......Love music !!

( or listen to / dl the mix via Box here )

Hi again and today we start with Honeymoon, a band I must confess to so far knowing zilch / nada / nowt / nuthin' about, except that they are the first band on a cassette tapes club just coming out from No Problem Records, a label from Minneapolis. Oh and that I really like the song "Installation Constellation".

Then it's The Jangleberries, a side project of Martin White from Road Poppies, seemingly based in Adelaide ( South Aussie ). "My Boyhood Heroes" is from their 4 song ep "Top Of The Pops With Murray Walker". Insert your own names as you sing along to this one !

Next up is Nottingham 5 piece Lost Pets and "Get Out" one of three songs they've recently recorded, their wesbite aptly self-describes themselves as "formed in Nottingham in May 2014 following an advert for untalented girls who can't play their instruments. They want to be an upbeat indiepop party band but keep writing melancholic folk pop songs by accident."  

Beko has just released a new 7" single from Sydney's Day Ravies - "Hickford Whizz / Taking Time", and incidentally they are also releasing more Aussie stuff soon, ie a new CD Ep from Cool Sounds plus Vol 2 of the "Peking Tapes - Oz Do It Better" series, which I am sure I will feature here in some form when those come out. 

Space Daze is a side project of Danny Rowland from Seapony, and earlier this year he released a 12 song album called "Follow My Light Back Home". Beautiful Strange have a cassette version of it ready sitting waiting for you as we speak.

After that we have 2 new-ish Australian tapes, firstly from Whalesmouth, a c15 from Cat Cat ( Melbourne via Canberra ), a 2012 recording appearing for the first time now. Then the great "Whine Ep" ( even though released via Heath Wax in the US ) from Brisbane's Tempura NIghts, featuring Alice from Go Violets, Jay from Major Leagues & Alan from The Good Sports. 

For your official video type viewing pleasure here's a clip for Tempura NIght's  "R.I.P Chix" from the ep -

And still on the subject of related clips if you are unaware of Major Leagues and the particular gem of a track that their track "Endless Drain" is, or if you do I know it and know what I mean then check this out....

But back to today's mix, we are then we are in Glasgow for Tuff Love ( 2 piece, members Julie & Suse ) and "Sweet Discontent" from their first release "The Junk Ep", a 10" on luscious white vinyl which came out earlier in the year on Lost Map Records, There is a newie, also from Lost Map, the "Dross" Ep, due out early next year on pink vinyl.  Then we head south from there to Bournemouth for Not Made In China.

Sydney band Mope City ( "Marrickville's finest" ) follows that with "Small Eye" a song from their new 7" Halfway House EP, just out via the Brisbane label Tenth Court ).

 From there it's up to Peckham ( London ) for 2 piece Heavy Heart from their "This Season" tape and to Barcelona for the excellent Spanish band April Fool's Day and their Cloudless Ep which came out late 2013 on the Sello Salvaje label.

Brilliant Mind are the first of 2 Novacastrian bands today, their ep is 'Blyth' and is on Tiny LIghts, a Gateshead label. I know The JAMS did reckon it was "grim up north", to my ears the ep is maybe not that grim, though this review hints otherwise. Oh and any further north ( ie over the border ) and their song might be called "Don't Give Me That, Rab".
Territory are a 3 piece originally from Canberra ( aka "our nations capital" ), now resident in Sydney - as I guess is possibly evident by having a song title on their ep of "Cleveland St" ( street in the inner city suburb of Surry Hills ).

Consilence are from a Canadian 4 piece from Edmonton who have just released their new ep "Walking Through A Dead Night". 

Continuing our unintentional Northern theme, High Hazels are from Sheffield in last 12 months have released several singles, a 10 inch ep and a CD/digital album, you can track everything down via their bandcamp. The picture over there on the left is their 10inch "In The Half Light" which the Gods of The Postal System dropped on my doormat this morning.
Their latest CD is a full self titled album. Those and the earlier 7" single "Hearts Are Breaking" ( on today's mix ) are all on the Heist or Hit label.

Also from Canada are Village, who's "Stranger Thoughts" single came out late 2013 on the Kingfisher Bluez label ( based in Vancouver ), this was Village's second single on the label and I have been wanting to play it for some time now but never got around to it. What cemented it as a definite inclusion in today's mix was the appearance of a baby Kingfisher bird in my backyard this afternoon

being such a beautiful blue colour it immediately brought the label Kingfisher Bluez into my head, so hence finally playing the Village song. Also Kingfisher Bluez will be doing the Parcel Post co-release with Cloudberry when that comes out.

After that it's another gem today from Witching Waves who have just released their debut vinyl LP "Fear of Falling Down" on Soft Power. Grubs are of "super group" / side project type-thingy for Owen from Joanna Gruesome, Roxy from Two White Cranes and Jake from the Basement Fever blog. Their songs are also available on clear flexi from a couple of places ( links are on the bandcamp page for their single ).

Baker Island, another band from Newcastle have links to Owls Of Fun which I played last time on #26, ie members Sean Dodds & Cathy Russell are in both bands. "You Are A Cathedral" is the title track from their 3 track ep.

In closing today I have a round up of some further great listening for you when you're done here

On Songs For Girls to Sing there are 2 recent mixes "Mind Boggling - the songs of 2014" and a few weeks ago "As Long As I Have You" - and heaps of other gems and tracks there as always.

One of the most exciting new concepts for 2015 is Cloudberry Radio, Roque has done a pilot for the new monthly podcast, including awesome songs ( of course ) and a chat with Andreas from Alpaca Sports. 

and last but definitely not least is Psycho Twee's new Indiepop 2014 mix.

lots to enjoy :)